Remonzer’s Weblog

everything that I am learning in EDUC 628

Weighing in November 11, 2007

Filed under: EDUC 685 — remonzer @ 2:04 am

I feel the need to weigh in with a couple of comments on recent postings from some of my classmates beginning with this one: 

Research article « Gnewsome’s Weblog EDUC 685 by

Research article « Gnewsome’s Weblog EDUC 685
As I read the blogs this afternoon, I couldn’t help but notice XXX’s post on our chat which stated that we should stop complaining about NCLB and just teach or get out. I am one of those who also love what I do even with all that is expected but I don’t mind letting everyone speak their mind. If we can’t sound off once in a while, to let off steam ….I don’t know what could happen.

I have to agree with you here!  While I know we are expected to do what the state or federal government dictates, we can never stop questioning, “is this the best way for our students?”  If we blindly follow any line of thinking…being it local, state or national, we could be setting ourselves up for a big fall.  Many times throughout history people have blindly followed where the were led and I don’t think we have to mention some of the consequences of those situations to fully understand how important it is to, as Dr. Lowell says, “question everything”.  If we left education because we didn’t like where it was going, what would become of our children and our children’s children??

I agree with Gloria and Jeff. One of the things that causes a great deal of distress for me when thinking about NCLB is the fact that schools who need money are under funded and cannot get ahead with this law.  When students are allowed to transfer to other schools because their school goes into a declining status, most often the brightest and best students are the first to leave.  So, the less able students are left and the schools end up with reduced funding and resources to help the neediest students.  If something is not fair or not working, we need to talk about it.

Now, a comment for this next posting:

Making the Grade by

“I have to admit, I usually go into a class and work my butt off until I get an A.  I received my undergraduate degree with a 3.8 GPA, and that was with giving birth to my second child half way through the program.  I would not classify myself as an over-achiever because there’s no doubt there’s always more I could have done.  So far I have a 4.0 in my graduate studies.  Well, who the heck cares anymore.  Personally, I’m tired of crunching the numbers every semester and stressing out until the final grades are posted.  I truly do attend every class with the expectation of learning something new everyday, so I have no idea why I put so much pressure on myself to earn a particular grade.  What employer ever asks what your GPA was in college?  NONE.  I think that this habit is partly due to our educational history and somehow we feel that our grade is a reflection of our character.  Earning a grade is byproduct of learning.  So learning should come first and we should just forget about the rest.” 

 I share your philosophy, but the cold, hard reality for many of us is that we will lose our student loans if we don’t maintain a certain GPA.  I love learning for the sake of learning and think that most teachers share this characteristic.  The fact is that I wish that I could relax a little more while working on my master’s classes and think that I would absorb the information in a more reflective mode if I was not learning it in a near-panic mode.  Sometimes, it is kind of hard to forget about the rest.

  

 

Leave a Reply

