Remonzer’s Weblog

everything that I am learning in EDUC 628

It’s That Time of Year, Again November 28, 2007

Filed under: EDUC 685 — remonzer @ 1:58 am

It’s that time of year when college students become zombies and there doesn’t seem to be any good cheer in sight.   I think it might be even worse when one tries to work full time, manage a household, and attend classes. But, on the other hand, I sometimes wondered if I would make it through undergrad work, too.  The thing that I learned is that there is a delightful  sense of accomplishment when all is said and done…usually.

Speaking of such things, I spent nearly the entire Thanksgiving holiday working on an action research report, which I finally figured out how to do near the end!  As I mentioned, we are usually, not always, proud of ourselves.  As I was poring through page after page of articles and finally, my report, I realized just how much easier pdf files are to work with than the documents in MSWord, especially when one is trying to navigate – it just so much easier to switch pages.  It also occurred to me that I don’t know how to create pdf files.  MSWord is the word processing program that I use the most.  Can anyone out there tell me how to go about learning to create pdf files?

Now, about my final project.  Unlike several of you about whose progress I have been reading in your blogs, I am still a little ways from the finish line.  But, my wiki is set up.  I have chosen a theme, custom colors, added pictures and pages, and am going to work with my first period class tomorrow on accessing the site.  I plan to add a page for each of my five classes along with numerous pages with pictures that we took when we went to Spain.  We have a series of bullfight pics that I think will be intriguing for the students and while they are looking at those, they might just slide over to their class page and see if there are any messages for them.  In addition to assignments, class blogs, and other such postings, I am thinking about having a shout out page for students who have done especially well in the class.  Or, for that matter, if they have done something well anywhere.  First, though, I  think that I have to get a signed permission form for their names to appear on the site.  Well, we will see how that goes.

¡Hasta pronto!

 

3 Responses to “It’s That Time of Year, Again”

  1. dancingnancy533 Says:

    You need a PDF converter to turn Word documents into PDF files. You should be able to find one if you google it. Let me know if you need any help.

  2. Nate Lowell Says:

    Yea. Personally, I use OpenOffice instead of Microsoft Office.

    It has a built in “Save as PDF” option right in files so I don’t pay either the Microsoft Tax *or* the Adobe Tax.

  3. Tippi Thompson Says:

    There is a site on the Internet called cutePDF. You go to that site follow the directions and your document is converted in a matter of seconds.


Leave a Reply

