Remonzer’s Weblog

everything that I am learning in EDUC 628

Blogs for All February 23, 2008

Filed under: EDUC 628 — remonzer @ 8:41 pm

This blog:  http://www.timegoesby.net/weblog/2008/02/elders-in-the-b.html  TIME GOES BY/Elders in the Blogosphere made me think about how much my Dad would have probably enjoyed taking part in this activity.  He was an avid reader and wrote letters to many of his friends in “long-hand” as he called it.  I think he would have enjoyed the opportunity to share stories and opinions with so many people at one time.  Local senior citizens centers might want to start thinking about incorporating this type of activity into their schedules.

Some of the senior citizens that I know are under the impression that the Internet, blogs and so forth are just for teenagers.  In fact, I mentioned this very article to aunts and uncles in my family who are in their 50s and 60s and they were surprised to know that folks in their age range are blogging.  It is also a fact that neither of my daughters have blogs, but I do.  Admittedly, I have one because of this class, but I am still part of a demographic that does not include teenagers. 

It does sound very new age, but I think blogging could add an element of excitement and camaraderie to our older citizens if they gave it a chance.  Plus, we need to preserve their stories and experience.

 

4 Responses to “Blogs for All”

  1. Joe McConda Says:

    I think the senior citizen center idea is a great one. My mother-in-law passed away last year and she was one who loved to e-mail and keep in touch that way. I think she, too, would have enjoyed blogging and reading others’ blogs.

  2. Tippi Thompson Says:

    What better way to preserve a story than to publish it to a medium that would allow it live on forever.

  3. Kim R Says:

    I agree with the “long hand”. My mom is gone now, but she would have liked to read and write to others about whatever. That is, if she would have ever conquered her fear of computers.

  4. Gloria Newsome Says:

    My husband, who is in his late 50s is just getting comfortable with using search engines and going to ebay but he does like it! By the way chica, 50s are not that old if you ask a 51year old! 🙂


Leave a Reply

