Remonzer’s Weblog

everything that I am learning in EDUC 628

A Personal Take on 21st-Century-Learners March 9, 2008

Filed under: EDUC 628 — remonzer @ 3:12 pm

 According to this video http://durandus.com/phaedrus/2008/03/05/21st-century-learners/, 21st -Century -Learners can be very productive.  It is hard to segue here to what I want to say, but I will press on in spite of that problem.  Personally, I feel lucky to be living in this time and in my generation.  That is not only because I love to learn and am so glad that I have the computer handy to satisfy my curiosity but, also, because of the unique relationship that I have with my children that I did not have with my parents.  My oldest daughter is in her third year of college.  Daily, we IM, email, and / or talk on a cell phone.  We talk about our lives and share news of the day that is important to us.  My youngest daughter is getting ready to graduate from high school and will attend college in the fall. I anticipate being able to maintain a close relationship with her in much the same way that I have with my oldest. The point is that it seems as though we are never that far from each other. It is nice to have the youngest – my in-house digital native- during this time when I am earning my master’s degree in educational technology because honest to goodness, I think that some of the technology is just intuitive to her.  She doesn’t read and pore over the details of a program like I do.  Sometimes, I throw my hands up and ask whether she knows how to do this or that.  If she doesn’t, we learn together – an added plus because she will very likely need to know what I am leaning in her college career. 

Recently in EDUC 644, we learned to do podcasts.  This was fun because neither of my daughters knew how to create them and once again, we had fun learning this together.  I was thinking one day that some mothers teach their daughters to cook and others teach them to podcast.  I’m glad that I have the opportunity to do both.  That is just one of the benefits of being a 21st-Century-Learner. 

 

2 Responses to “A Personal Take on 21st-Century-Learners”

  1. dancingnancy533 Says:

    I think it is great that you can teach your daughters how to cook and do podcasts. (I wish someone had taught me how to cook, lol) I know a lot more than when I first entered the Educational Technology program. One day when I have children of my own I will be able to show them how to gain access to the rest of world and I’m sure they’ll show their old man a few tricks too.

  2. […] for the day As I was reading the blogs from my classmates, I came across this one.  https://remonzer.wordpress.com/2008/03/09/a-personal-take-on-21st-century-learners/   Recently in EDUC 644, we learned to do podcasts.  This was fun because neither of my daughters […]


Leave a Reply

