Remonzer’s Weblog

everything that I am learning in EDUC 628

Whose News? March 12, 2008

Filed under: EDUC 628 — remonzer @ 10:35 pm

For some reason I could not get the video in this blog http://durandus.com/phaedrus/2008/03/10/cultural-disconnections/ to open. I tried everything that I know with no success and it’s really too bad because I wanted to see and hear the viewpoints that were expressed.  For some time now, I have observed that not only do my students know very little about what is happening in the world outside their little orb, they don’t even know where many other countries are located!  Since I teach high school, I think that is pretty sad.  To that end, I try to work geography into my lesson plans. 

Sometimes I think that we are rearing little ethno centrists.  Please don’t misunderstand me.  I think it is wonderful to be patriotic and proud of whom you are.  We all need that shot of self esteem, but we shouldn’t get so caught up in our own little world that we don’t even think about the others.  But, the question was how do we instill the desire to care?  Some would say that only by suffering would they learn to care. That is pretty heavy stuff.  Perhaps if they were exposed to more people their age in other countries (or maybe even in other states) and learned about their situations in life, a light might go on and they might see themselves and others in a new way. 

As previously stated, I wish that I could have opened the video because for a few years now I have been reading about how our network news channels all have corporate sponsors with political agendas of their own.  So, how do we get a straight story?  Reading blogs and staying alert is probably the key.  For our students, while we are helping them to learn different uses for the great technological tools, we also need to help them to determine where news sources originate and how to distinguish between fact and fiction.   

 

Leave a Reply

