Remonzer’s Weblog

everything that I am learning in EDUC 628

A little homeschooling March 27, 2008

Filed under: EDUC 628 — remonzer @ 11:23 pm

 This is a personal comment about homeschooling.  I did not attend a full year of formal schooling until third grade.  My mother taught me at home.  I received some instruction from my dad, but he was the breadwinner and worked away from home.  Neither of my parents were college graduates, but they must have done something right because at the end of my third grade year, I was promoted to the fifth grade. 

Looking back on this time of my life, I do think that I would have benefited from having more frequent interaction with children my own age.  However, I am not sure that my education would have been better.  I just remember wishing that I had more playmates.

Like some of the others have posted, I have seen homeschooling abused, too.  But, I have also seen it work for kids who are having personal problems.  I know of one girl in particular who completed the homeschooling requirements for high school and went straight to college where she is quite successful.  She knew what she wanted to do and is doing it.  Homeschooling allowed her to finish a year earlier than she would have in public high school. 

I’m not sure how we solve the problem of students who do not complete homeschooling programs and end up being dropouts.  Sometimes, they do become a drain on society.   The situation might not have been different had they continued to attend public school. 

 

5 Responses to “A little homeschooling”

  1. Nate Lowell Says:

    “I’m not sure how we solve the problem of students who do not complete homeschooling programs and end up being dropouts.”

    How do we deal with students who don’t finish high school and end up being dropouts? Don’t they, too, sometimes become drains on society?

    And what about those who finish high school but are completely unequipped to cope with society? Are they any different? Is there a lesson here for us?

  2. dancingnancy533 Says:

    I think there is a lesson for us. The type of education we provide for our students needs to be one that allows them to deal with the issues of society. I graduated with some people who did well in school, but got swept under the wave of society because they did not know how to cope with it. That’s the problem. We need to rethink our goals for teaching and start focusing in on how students can deal with those kinds of issues.

  3. Jeff Says:

    Again, I think that the desire of the individual is probably a greater force in shaping their ultimate outcome. Not so smart kids can do well and many smart kids don’t do so well. I once had a student who scored 35 on the ACT….everyone thought he would make a doctor or engineer…..last I heard he was bagging groceries…so go figure! I’ve had students in my class that, as far as I could discern, we’re average….not bad…not great….that are now doctors, lawyers and the like….again….I think the key factor is “what do I really want for me?”

  4. remonzer Says:

    My gut reaction is to say that parents and caregivers of children should take a bigger role in the education of children. To accomplish that goal, we need to educate the students of today so that they will know how to help with their children’s education.

    As for the lesson that we are learning…perhaps we need to revamp our whole system. Instead of insisting on 13 years of school attendance before students receive a high school diploma, as teachers we could try to help them identify their strengths and provide guidance until they have achieved an acceptable level of expertise.

  5. BArbara Nantz Says:

    Wow! promoted to the fifth grade that must of been really hard on you socially. It sounds great, but I don’t know how great it would have been being the only senior that can’t drive.
    I am glad you pointed out that most home schooled children do fine. I think that home schooled children have to learn to learn because their isn’t a teacher telling them what they need to know.
    I would also like to say that I agree with everything that Remona said. Parents need to be more involved in the educational process an we need to use their knowledge of their student to promote different fields. Maybe college isn’t for their students, but we can put them into mining classes, heavy equipment classes, business classes, etc. . . Whatever is offered should be allowed to talk instead of worrying about portfolios we should be worrying about the rest of the students life. Our Administration has just put a school to work program in where JR and SR can go off campus and begin taking tech courses, college courses, and mining certification. When our seniors graduate they will be able to go right to work.


Leave a Reply

